Loading Events

« All Events

Naturalist Book Club

August 25 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

 August 25th 

Naturalist Book Club

Join us as we discuss David Rains Wallace’s captivating book- Mountains and Marshes- Exploring the Bay Area’s Natural History.

Described by the San Francisco Chronicle as “a writer in the tradition of Henry David Thoreau, John Muir, and other self-educated seers”, David Rains Wallace turns his attention to one of the most distinctive corners of California: the San Francisco Bay Area. Weaving a complex and engaging story of the Bay Area from personal, historical, and environmental threads, Wallace’s exploration of the natural world takes readers on a fascinating tour through the region: from Point Reyes National Park, where an abandoned campfire and an invasion of Douglas fir trees combusted into a dangerous wildfire, to Oakland’s Lake Merritt, a surprising site amid skyscrapers for some of the best local bird-watching…

 

With a naturalist’s eye, a penchant for local history, and an obvious passion for the subject, Wallace’s new collection is among the first nature writing dedicated entirely to the Bay Area.

Excerpt by Amazon.com

 

Join us for a lively discussion of this fascinating book.

 

 

 

Date: August 25th 

Time: 7:00pm – 8:00pm

Location: China Camp Village Museum, China Camp State Park

 

Space is limited and reservations are required.

To reserve, send email to:

chinacamp.programs@gmail.com or call (415) 456-0766.

Include your name, the number of seats you need, and your phone #.

We will reply to confirm your reservation.

Cancellation announcements will be posted on the FOCC website homepage.

Details

Date:
August 25
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm